sock off

I have a dirty, dirty secret: I stuff my skates.

(via flickr)

 

It was love at first site when I got my Riedells, but just like any new skater, it’s easy to be confused about fit. The first pair I ordered were FAR too big. Since they come in men’s sizes and not women’s, I was told to order a size to a size and half below what I normally wear.

So on my second attempt, I ordered a 5.5 (I normally wear a 6.5-7 shoe size). And when they fit ‘good enough’ I was far too excited to do anything but strap them on and skate.

So my dearest roller skates… we’ve been together almost two years now, and well.. you’ve gotten a little big. Don’t get me wrong, you still look GREAT- barely a day over one! But I’ve been overcompensating for your stretch… piling on up to six… yes SIX pairs of socks. Which may or may not be contributing to my sore feet, ankles and shin splints.

What’s a roller girl to do?

4 Comments

Filed under roller derby

4 responses to “sock off

  1. Jamie

    L-O-V-E your writing and this blog! I look forward to it everyday. It’s a happy little place and it makes me smile. Great pictures!

    And I live vicariously through your roller derby world. :) I think I would be too chicken…

    Jamie (from Owl Studios…in case you didn’t recognize the name)

  2. Thank you, that makes ME smile :) Sometimes I wonder if anybody reads this thing, hehe…

    As for derby, I’m so glad you like hearing about it, I should write about it more often since it’s such a big part of my life.

    You can’t be too chicken for derby. I never even skated before I tried out, but there are so many wonderful and patient people to help you learn. The only way you can fail is to not show up!

    Thanks Jamie :)

  3. Josephine

    Six pairs? Oh my Donna…that is too much! I think it’s time you try out the Minx. They were made with a woman’s foot in mind and I must admit, they are comphy. The most expensive shoes I ever owned? Yes. But worth it for the time I was in them.
    Dear Donna’s Feet,
    I’m sorry. She will try to do better in the future.
    XOXO

  4. Bea

    I wear size 7 in shoes, size 5 in men’s skates plus two pairs of socks. No blisters, no weird calluses, no shin splints.

    Roll out!

Leave a Reply

