hip to be square

It’s been a while since I’ve written about my city, much less my neighborhood. That needs to change. There’s certainly plenty going on in Fountain Square: construction controversies, bike lane growing pains, new shops and eateries coming… and going.

I live and work here now. My “neighbors” are Jen at IndySwank and Joe at Joe’s Cycles. So many people have invested their lively hood in this place. Gives me an extra dose of neighborhood pride.

I’ll keep this post short on words and heavy on the visuals, because that’s one of my favorite things about FS. There’s so much to look at.

I walk to work every morning, when it’s quiet. When it has the most grace. I spot details in the architecture, street art that’s sprouted overnight. Greet a feral cat or two. At night, I bask in the glow of neon signs, the haze of cigarette smoke. I spend a lot of time just gazing at Fountain Square, like a sleeping lover. (And yes, I meant that in the creepiest way possible.)

Your turn.

this post inspired by think kit 2011.

Leave a comment

Filed under photography, random thoughts

Leave a Reply

