at last

things are getting serious. The wheels are in motion for my first-ever flight to europe. no turning back now. I’ll soon be visiting paris, the city I’ve been obsessed with for years.

to prepare, I’ve been collecting interesting and helpful blog posts on pinterest and tips from friends on facebook:

I leave july 4 (the irony is not lost on me, don’t worry) for 10ish days. I’ll spend the first few days in amsterdam with my pal jess, who just moved there from Indy a few months ago.

then I’ll take the train to paris. this will be my first time out of the country, and my first time exploring a city alone. scary, but I’m embracing it, planning to walk and wander a whole lot, maybe even try my hand at couch surfing.

things I am worried about:

  • traveling solo
  • being shy
  • not knowing the language. I’m sorta trying to learn, but it’s not really sticking. what seems to be working best, I guess not surprisingly, is listening to french pop songs.

things I am not worried about:

  • carrying too much luggage. my plan is to pack some books, my laptop, camera, and minimal clothing.
  • having to walk a lot. I love walking.
  • looking like a tourist. I mean, c’mon.

stay tuned as I plan my trip in more detail. in the meantime, I’ll just be here watching this video on repeat:

Leave a comment

Filed under all things french, travel

Leave a Reply

