more grok talk

Well, today is day 6 of my veggie-paleo experiment. I feel slimmer around the middle, stronger, and overall have more energy. My skin and eyes are clearer. I’m not hungry all the time and I don’t ‘crash’ at some point during the day. In short, I feel f*cking amazing. So why am I still skeptical? Well, it was way too easy.

Hilary Swank (via weheartit)

On traditional Paleo, you eat meat, meat and more meat because that’s what our caveman ancestors did. Since I still can’t stomach eating anything with fur or feathers, I’ve instead upped my seafood and nut consumption. I’ve also (gasp) started using oil to cook with. This part was really hard for me… there’s still a nagging voice in the back of me head telling me ‘Fat is bad!’ ‘Fat makes you fat!’

Here’s what a typical day has been:

Breakfast: Veggie Scramble: Egg Whites plus what ever veggies I can find (kale, onions, peppers, tomato paste, spinach, asparagus)

Snack: Walnuts and Almonds

Lunch: Salad with shrimp or leftover breakfast scramble

Snack: Lara Bar*, apple or tangerine

Dinner: Salmon with lemon, garlic, shallots and kale or brocollini

I also grabbed some almond butter at Costco and coconut oil at Whole Foods. I don’t think I’d be able to do this with out Farm Fresh Delivery… otherwise I’d be driving to the grocery store twice a week to stock up.

In my endeavors, here are some great (and cleverly written) blogs I’ve come across:

Melissa 'Melicious' Joulwan

I’m still looking for a catch… but to sum it all up again, here’s a clever video:

*I love Lara Bars because aside from being nummy, they only a handful of ingredients and not a sketchy one in the bunch.

5 Comments

Filed under nomz, roller derby

5 responses to “more grok talk

  1. Brad L

    Interesting stuff….Never heard of this particular diet, but this is similar to what a friend of mine does when he “cleanses” for a week. Mostly nuts and veggies. Sounds pretty well balanced and just light on the carbs.

    I would have to think all the Omega3’s from the increase in seafood have got to be a huge help. A lot of people take fish oil just to cut fat. I wonder how you would be feeling if you were eating chicken, beef, and pork instead on the fish.

  2. @Brad- It is interesting, isn’t it! When I first heard about it, I was more intrigued than anything.

    I should also mention that any food I buy comes from local sources, the eggs are from a local farm and free-range…and I try to buy wild-caught fish as opposed to farm-raised. (The same rule should apply to any beef, pork, chicken you eat… grass-fed, free-range, etc.)

    I too wonder what bad-assery would be unleashed if I were to go full-paleo… alas, I just can’t bring myself to do it. Although I read, grass-fed beef is a powerful food for ‘modern day cavemen’

  3. So glad you’re trying this! Seriously you will be so glad you did, and if you can ever get to the point where you can handle meat- I recommend it. Before paleo, I only ate chicken occassionally, never had red meat. I started out slowly, b/c meat didn’t appeal to me, but I’ve realized how full it makes me feel. I still rely more on veggies, almonds, etc. And I can’t handle pork at all. I stick to chicken, turkey, sirloin steak, and seafood. And yeah, don’t be afraid of fat! Try coconut oil to cook your veggies in- delicious!

    I’ve also found this site- http://www.youbars.com/- that let’s you customize your own “power-bars” that fit within paleo.

    It’s been about 6 months for me on paleo, and there are no catches. You really do just feel more energetic, have more power, feel more full and I sleep better too.

  4. @Sookie: Thank you! It’s awesome to have a good example like you in my life- thanks for being an inspiration. I struggled the same way you did when I was in college, and now, especially thanks to derby, I’ve realized I need to rethink the way I fuel my body.

    I am still in shock how I’ve changed in just a week!

  5. Lara (Trash Gordon)

    Hey, this makes sense. I miss eating this way! I’ve had to make some choices economically, but try to be true to living naturally. Can’t always do it now, but try!

Leave a Reply

