pain in the…

I try to tell myself I’m one of those people that’s immune to the effects of stress. I mean, that’s what roller derby is for, right? I have the opportunity to work out my frustrations on the track. Tell that to my aching jaw.

I grind my teeth while I sleep. Stressed or not… but especially when I’m stressed. Confession time: I have to wear a mouth guard to bed when I sleep because of this.

and I swear it looks nothing like this:

https://i0.wp.com/1.bp.blogspot.com/_i7IqN0dMk7g/SjwcVLXqTmI/AAAAAAAAD9o/D3QMbId7qoY/s400/headgear.jpg

The past two weeks I’ve had big time jaw pain, despite wearing my mouth guard religiously. What the heck!? I’ve been getting a solid 8 hours a night. I’m eating well, exercising, even doing yoga… what else is there? Advice?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “pain in the…

  1. Don’t feel bad, Kate. I do the same thing! I don’t wear a guard, but I probably should. Every time I go to the dentist, I get the same, “You grind your teeth, don’t you,” as if it changes from one visit to the next. Sometimes I catch myself unconsciously clenching my teeth while I’m awake, and I have no idea why. Sometimes going through some relaxation techniques helps before you go to bed. You get your body and mind in the right place, and it really makes a difference.

  2. I have TMJ, too! I used to have to wear a mouth guard when I slept, and it helped for awhile, but eventually it started doing more harm than good. I don’t know why; maybe my jaw got used to it? I’m not sure, so I don’t really have any solid advice other than maybe try not wearing it for awhile. Good luck figuring it out!

  3. I’ve had my mouth guard for about four years. It actually makes it so I have an under-bite while I’m wearing it, which I think is key. I hope I haven’t worn it out!

Leave a Reply

