kid knees

So, this last weekend I had my first kidney stone attack. I say ‘attack’ because this thing came at me like an angry mama bear. And she sent me straight to the E.R.

I probably have kidney stones coming and going as they please, without much fuss – until they strike again. The doctor made it a point to tell me this is something I’ll probably have to deal with the rest of my life. Oof.

Something to do with a nice pair of genes. My mom was in the hospital with her first kidney stone attack when she was just a few years older than me, just a few weeks after I was born. Se la vie.

(image via marilynne)

If you’re unaware, a kidney stone attack is “often described as one of the strongest pain sensations felt by humans (being worse than childbirth, broken bones, gunshot wounds, burns, or surgery).”

Which, I suppose, makes me kind of a tough chick, fresh from battle. Although, now the only thing I’m fighting off are sneaky nap attacks:

1 Comment

Filed under family, random thoughts

One response to “kid knees

  1. Pingback: un café | paige turner | my life is an open blog

Leave a Reply

